PDA

View Full Version : Trying to plan first trip Saturday

will_d
12-30-2011, 04:19 AM
I'm thinking about taking my first trip out in my kayak to do some fishing on Saturday. From what I'm reading on here it seems like everybody likes Hopedale, is that because a lot of y'all are from that area, or is that the best place to catch fish now? I'm in Baton Rouge and would like to go somewhere that I can get on some fish, but I'm a newb and the only time I've been in my kayak is in a neighborhood pond. I don't want to really jump in on some place that's hard to kayak at, if that makes sense. Are there any places that are easier to fish than others that I should look at (I'd like to keep it within a couple of hours)? Thanks for any help you can give me.

MidCityGumbo
12-30-2011, 04:41 AM
Welcome Will-- be prepared for the kayak fishing addiction to begin!

Hopedale's been hot lately, which is why everyone likes it right now. It's about an hour from New Orleans, too, which makes us from this area happy. Hopedale Lagoon is a good place for a first trip; the launch is pretty easy and you can be fishing after less than a 1 mile paddle. The only drawback would be on a windy day (I'd say over 10-15) you could have a tough time paddling back to the launch.

Another great first spot is Magnolia down hwy 23 in Plaquemines Parish. Again, just under an hour from NOLA and an even shorter paddle to fishable areas. "Mag" holds less trout but some big redfish; it's also where many kayak anglers have 'cut their teeth'.

Depending on how I do today (going out in a small bass boat with a buddy) I may go out tomorrow and, if I do would be happy to show you around. With the wind forecast to be calm, I'd lean toward Hopedale Lagoon.

Razoryak
12-30-2011, 07:08 AM
+1 on Hopedale for Saturday. I suspect there should be several members there that would be happy to show you the ropes.

4x4fishin
12-30-2011, 08:06 AM
Welcome aboard.