PDA

View Full Version : Want to Know.. Pelican or Ascend?

coonhuntr
03-03-2011, 07:55 AM
I am an LSU student so that makes my funds limited. I have around $500 to spend on a kayak. The main use for the Kayak would be for fishing mostly lakes, but I have a few friends that fish in the marshes. I am 5'10" 165lb and in good physical shape so if the kayak drags a little its not that big of a deal, plus it will be a good workout.

All of that said I have looked at three kayaks. The Ascend FS12T 12' at bass pro ($480) the Pelican Castaway 130 13' at Academy ($330) and the Pelican Castaway 116 11'6" at Academy for ($380). What is your take on these? I noticed the prices at Academy are dirt cheap compared to some other places online that are selling these same Kayaks for nearly $600, so is there something that I should look for when I get it or is it different that the others. I have also read that some of these places that sell their kayaks keep them stored in a warehouse and the kayaks will get warped, is this true, and what should I look for? Also I have heard of some balancing beams that float off the side of the kayak. Are these necessary? Do they help?

I know that the only way to know what I want is to try it out, and I plan on going to the next Backpacker demo day at the LSU lakes but there prices are a little over my budget. I'm sorry if I asked too many questions but I just want to get the best deal for my money and I know you get what you pay for...

Thanks in advance,
William

Sandman
03-03-2011, 08:12 AM
I bought my first kayak (Pelican Castaway 100) from Academy and there were no warping issues. Like fishtaco said, though, you can get some great deals on used boats.

yak-aholic
03-03-2011, 08:41 AM